top of page
  • Pritha Samanta

Falling


falling

As I stayed aware,

but silent and still,

hoping for something to happen,

and when it did,

I lost all control,

and spiralled in,

it felt like falling,

but not quite, still

I let it happen,

for its comfort,

was like a lullaby,

and I dozed off

into the tranquil

feel of it all.


I fell in love the way you fall asleep,

didn’t see it happen,

but it happened still,

slowly but surely,

it made its way,

into my body,

my heart and my mind.

Into my soul like a soothing song

it passed through me,

it was me, but it calmed me,

and I was deep

in serenity,

to notice when

the peace turned into a dream,

a commotion, a fight,

a war, and it was Saturday night,

and I hadn’t done the dishes,

and you didn’t cook the food,

and suddenly all hell broke loose,

and things stopped making sense.

In a dream, this often happens.

And just like every dream,

this too ended and brought back reality.

I knew it was over,

I knew it in my heart.

But I pondered through the day

and into the night,

what had happened,

and what it meant,

and if I could dream

that dream once again.

38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Misfit

If

bottom of page